Parents Guide to Scouting

Quick view of the BSA Scouting Program
Tiger Scout = 7 year old cub scout (not usually a part of an LDS sponsored pack)
Wolf Scout = 8 year old cub scout
Bear Scout = 9 year old cub scout
Weblos Scout = 10 year old cub scout

*The Cub program consists of the Tiger, Wolf, Bear, and Weblos Badges. Cubs must meet the requirements of their rank before their birthday in order to receive the rank advancement. 

11 Year Old Scout = (this is a tricky one!) 11 year old scout, no longer a part of the cub program
Scout = 12 & 13 year old scouts
Varsity Scout = 14 and 15 year old scouts
Venture Scout = 16 and 17 year old scouts

*Boys in the Scouting program progress from one troop to the next on their 12, 14 and 16 birthdays. Unlike the cub program, a scout moves through his rank advancement at his own pace. A diligent scout can reasonably earn his Second Class by the time he is 12 and his Eagle by the time he is 13 or 14. Some scouts take all the way til their 18th birthday to achieve this rank. No scout is eligible for advancement to Eagle after he has turned 18. The ranks are as follows:  Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, Eagle.

What do all these acronyms mean? Glossary of Scouting Terms 

Activities to do at home

No comments:

Post a Comment